Customer Service – vent

sippy cup

I’m not one to complain, but I’m venturing into that world. When at a restaurant, if I get the wrong sides with my meal, I deal. My cable bill is outrageous, but I suffer every month (though I did just recently call, for the very first time ever, and got it reduced like, $20. Woo Hoo). If I buy a product and it immediately breaks or malfunctions, I usually either just buy a new one or go without.

That being said, for the second time in my life I spoke up. I purchased this Miracle 360 Sippy Cup by Munchkin ( #miracle360 #munchkin) for my daughter and loved it. So I purchased a second one. This cup is supposed to be leak-proof. Well, my daughter found a way to make it leak. She likes to drop it. When it drops it leaks. So that is understandable. However, what caused me to contact the company was the pictured cup (my other one is pink) was leaking when she was drinking out of it. It’s not supposed to do that. I wasn’t looking for a replacement, though to be honest, I was hoping. So I emailed the company and stated the issue I was having, but also asking if I was doing something wrong. I have absolutely no problem admitting when I’m wrong. (Rare trait these days, I know.)  The representative promptly emailed me back apologizing and requesting my address so they can send me a new one, as well as the product number written on the bottom of the cup. I was thrilled. I was not expecting this. The best I was hoping for, if not words of my errors, would have been a coupon for another one. So I provided the necessary information.

A few days later I tried to send another email to said representative asking if she would like me to send back the one I’m having issues with. My email was denied. That should have been my first clue. But ever the optimist, I held out hope. Well, tomorrow, August 19, will be 9 weeks since the original correspondence. I have yet to receive my Sippy Cup. What I’m pissed about is the person stating they are going to do something and then not doing it. How is this good customer service? If you would have placated me and said something like, “Are you sure? I have 3 and they’re wonderful. Try this: when you put it together make sure you are pressing extra hard on the heart in the middle of that center lid.  Try that a few times and let me know how it works”. That would have said that you’ve heard my plight and have provided a solution. If said solution doesn’t work we can look at other resolutions. But don’t tell me you’re going to replace it and then do nothing.

Thanks for letting me vent.

*Note: my apologized for this originally being posted as one entire hyperlink. Not sure how that happened.

Leave a Reply

